top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Digital Media will help make my Cultural Heritage here to stay


Screenshot of my Cultural Heritage Video, 3 June 2016

Recently I approached the critical question: how the nature of digital innovations influences cultural heritage places to become redundant?

I chose it because I had never thought about museums ever ceasing to exist, and I thought I could approach it in a way that would demonstrate just how much technology is already in museums. I illustrated my ideas and research through a YouTube video, to practice my filming and editing skills, hoping my ideas will reach a large audience as well.

The video begins demonstrating recent videos I had created within the past months to illustrate to viewers that I have a broader online presence for them to check out. I integrated my blog title, ‘Far Out Media’, because I wanted to show that both the blog and my YouTube account interrelate. Using strategies like speaking to the camera in addition to integrating images and videos, is what I intended to include as it constantly keeps audiences watching, as well as relating better to the topic question. At the conclusion of the video, I created a clip where I disappear, because I thought this would suit what I was finishing off with. Likewise, I wanted something to happen at the end that would somewhat humour viewers, which is the reason for my inclusion of my cat, Louie.

In relation to Creative Commons content, there were only particular sources I incorporated to further enhance my creation of the video. One included an upbeat song, in which I thought related to the positive mood of the overall clip. I employed an image of the Tasmanian Museum because without it, there was a large gap that I was afraid would lose viewers from. The video portrayed footage I had taken from Melbourne Museum, which certain parts related to points I was making, being something I didn’t plan on happening. For example, when I speak of humanity moving on, the video illustrates an increasing timeline of years to come. I decided to include images of certain heritage sites that is personal to me, making the video come from a subjective perspective. I incorporated a Creative Commons sound effect when the cat jumps from mid-air. Lastly, I particularly enjoyed the first time skill of integrating other videos I already had on my YouTube channel, where viewers can additionally watch other content and potentially subscribe.

Also, I utilised scholarly sources in a straightforward way, where I had created a PowerPoint slide show, displaying quotes made by the authors as well as their name. I screen recorded this to integrate, so the attention was taken off me for a bit, as well as make it easier for the audience to write notes down quicker. Quoting sentences and the sources with my voice was something that was also utilised, so viewers could double check the reference in the description box of the video.

Making the intro sequence was difficult to create because I spent time looking through a list of transitions but the one I wanted didn’t exist, so I had to choose one I that would fit second best. It was time consuming to search areas of a video I wanted to include and crop, line the clips up evenly as well as make sure it flowed in sync. I felt Premier Pro worked the best. One issue I had was that I had saved my work but didn’t back up the sound effect noise. That meant that when I re-opened the editing, it couldn’t register it, so I had to find it again.

Overall, I particularly liked the adventuring out to visit the museum, film and photograph from my point of view, as well as the end clip of the video, in which I felt was most creative. If there was something to change for next time, I would definitely start earlier. I’d make a written plan, because the majority of it was visualised in my head. I’d also perhaps be more imaginative with how messages were being dealt with, such as next time using interviews or acting. Generally, I was impressed with my video’s success in finishing and hopefully it will gain attention from the audience watching.

My overall online engagement:

Over the past few months, my online existence has increased astronomically. I was never comfortable with exposing myself through social media platforms and interacting with people I didn’t know. But that all went down the drain when I got:

Screenshot of one of my tweets, 3 June 2016

  • Twitter- Which is now my number one social media platform, because I learn so much from it, not just from articles but from people’s point of views. I also received ‘a golden badge’ for being most online presented

Screenshot of blog homepage, 3 June 2016

  • This Blog- Allowed me to express my views with pure freedom

Screenshot of my Instagram post, 3 June 2016

  • Instagram- To illustrate my images I took of places I went to and advertise my blog

Screenshot of my LinkedIn profile, 3 June 2016

  • LinkedIn/ About me- Connecting to more people and searching for possible future jobs

Screenshot of a video I made based on a Museum Experience, 3 June 2016

  • YouTube- Vlogs of my opinion on things and becoming comfortable in front of the camera

Overall, the last few months have been the most engaging experience, with such a large group of people, and that interaction with both people I knew/ didn’t know, has gradually helped me move out of my comfort zone. I learnt SO much in what felt like years, but what was really only three months. And so I recommend to all of you. Take a risk, leave your comfort zone and be noticeable. In real life and online.

Reading Reference List

Black, G 2012, Transforming Museums in the Twenty-First Century, Routledge, retrieved 20 May 2016, p. 4, http://reader.eblib.com.au.ezproxy-f.deakin.edu.au/(S(hddfup3id3oggkaxoa4dkjuq))/Reader.aspx?p=957857&o=154&u=VHQ6ZFN%2b%2bhORsBENebs63A%3d%3d&t=1464201595&h=48D4D9545D70C582E674938767EB4205D2CB3ECC&s=25362441&ut=484&pg=1&r=img&c=-1&pat=n&cms=-1&sd=1#.

Lim, Yan P 2011, ‘Virtual Reality as a Means for Preserving Digital Heritage: Masjid Jamek’, Vol. 5, Issue 9, p. 119-128, selected page: p.1, DOI: 73151246.

Parry, R 2003, Museums in a Digital Age, Taylor and Francis, retrieved 20 May 2016, p. 1-2, http://reader.eblib.com.au.ezproxy-f.deakin.edu.au/(S(nhzbsaxhb0dq11f4zvhhgdbo))/Reader.aspx?p=1112414&o=154&u=VHQ6ZFN%2b%2bhORsBENebs63A%3d%3d&t=1464361962&h=291F4FA7B6E704071AF36F5FDA35109FE6747DAB&s=25435865&ut=484&pg=1&r=img&c=-1&pat=n&cms=-1&sd=1#.

Robbins, C 2010, ‘Beyond preservation: New directions for technological innovation through intangible cultural heritage’, Vol. 6, Issue 2, p. 1, Accession number: 52596707.

Additional Media Reference List

Anderson, G 2015 (CC 2.0), ‘The Power of Change Exhibition’, Gavin Anderson, Flickr, 26 April, retrieved 29 May 2016, <>.

AR Sound Effects, Sound Effect- Teleport #1, YouTube, CC (3.0), 2015, retrieved 29 May 2016, <>.

Baines, R 2016, ‘Monday Openings of Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery ‘under consideration’’, ABC, 11 May, retrieved 20 May 2016, http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-05-11/tasmanian-museum-and-art-gallery-monday-openings-possible/7405112.

Phlex- Light Me Up (feat. Caitlin Gare), ‘Argofox’, YouTube, CC (2.0), 2013, retrieved 29 May 2016, <>.


  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page